USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?  (Read 8166 times)

Antony

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« on: September 06, 2009, 05:38:22 pm »

Garmin Mapsource software for the PC has a range of baud connection options however the lowest is 9600. Is there a way to change the 353 driver USB to COM baud rate?
Logged

USG_TECH9

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 120
    • USGlobalSat
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 03:49:59 pm »

Hello Antony,

You can change the baud rate with the SiRF Demo software.

Connect your BU-353 and select the correct COM port and 4800 baud rate.

Go to Action > Open Data Source

Then go to Action > Switch to SiRF Protocol

Then go to Action > Switch to NMEA Protocol

In the window that pops up, under baud rate, select the baud rate you'd like and select Send.

That should change your baud rate to the baud rate you selected.

By the way, these changes are only temporary.

-Jesse :)
Logged

Antony

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 06:23:14 am »

I do not have the SiRF Demo software. I only have the GPS Information software that came on the CD.
Logged

USG_TECH9

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 120
    • USGlobalSat
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2009, 12:03:50 pm »

Hello Antony,

Unfortunately, we do not provide the SiRF Demo software. But i'm sure you can find it if you do a quick google search for it.

-Jesse :)
Logged

Antony

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2009, 07:31:55 am »

found the software and made the change from 4800 to 9600 baud. the change seems to be permanent, i plugged it in today and it was still configured to 9600 - thanks.
Logged

tdbone1

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2012, 11:47:17 pm »

Hello Antony,

You can change the baud rate with the SiRF Demo software.

Connect your BU-353 and select the correct COM port and 4800 baud rate.

Go to Action > Open Data Source

Then go to Action > Switch to SiRF Protocol

Then go to Action > Switch to NMEA Protocol

In the window that pops up, under baud rate, select the baud rate you'd like and select Send.

That should change your baud rate to the baud rate you selected.

By the way, these changes are only temporary.

-Jesse :)

so what commands in linux can we do for the baud rate?
i thought we were only supposed to do "-s 4800"
are you saying any baud rate i pick will work?
thanks

just wanted to add this:
$PSRFTXT,Version:GSW3.2.4_3.1.00.12-SDK003P1.00a
$PSRFTXT,Version2:F-GPS-03-0701301
« Last Edit: August 19, 2012, 07:55:11 am by tdbone1 »
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2012, 11:40:55 am »

Hello tdbone1,

Welcome to the forums! You can possibly send the following the commands to change the baud rate:

4800/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,4800,8,1,0*0E
9600/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,9600,8,1,0*0D
19200/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,19200,8,1,0*38
38400/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,38400,8,1,0*3D

Please keep in mind that these changes are temporary or leaving the BU-353 unplugged from power for 72 hours would reset the device to default.
Logged

tdbone1

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2012, 08:10:25 pm »

what program do i use to input those commands?

could you give me an example for linux?
thanks
Logged

tdbone1

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2012, 11:47:16 am »

can you put one of these commands in the terminal syntax?
4800/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,4800,8,1,0*0E
9600/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,9600,8,1,0*0D
19200/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,19200,8,1,0*38
38400/8/N/1 - $PSRF100,1,38400,8,1,0*3D

the command you showed in this post i have done before.
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2012, 11:55:30 am »

Unfortunately, we are not that familiar with the Linux OS. Perhaps, you can do an online search on how to input the NMEA commands.
Logged

JWalker

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2012, 01:03:06 pm »

What would be the effect of changing from 4800 BAUD to 9600 BAUD when the GPS program is designed for 4800 BAUD?
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2012, 05:11:23 pm »

In the GPSInfo program, if you selected the improper baud rate, you would not see any scrolling data in the white window. That's why you need to select the proper baud rate for the device to be able to work properly with the program. Also, 4800 is the default baud rate for most of our GPS Receivers.

Let me know if you have any questions.
Logged

JWalker

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2012, 06:07:30 pm »

In the GPSInfo program, if you selected the improper baud rate, you would not see any scrolling data in the white window. That's why you need to select the proper baud rate for the device to be able to work properly with the program. Also, 4800 is the default baud rate for most of our GPS Receivers.

Let me know if you have any questions.

I did not communicate my question well.  It is the case where the BAUD in the Prolific Driver is set at 9600 instead of 4800.  I found my setting to be 9600 when I checked.  I have since changed it to 4800.  My DeLorme software is designed for 4800.  I wonder if the 9600 setting might have been part of my problem of screen freezing.
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2012, 06:39:43 pm »

Thanks for clearing that up. Regarding the baud rate settings in the Device Manager, there is no need to change the Baud Rate to 4800. We usually recommend to leave it as it is.

I'm not sure if changing the baud rate to 9600 would help resolve the screen freezing issue that you have. Perhaps, you allowed some Microsoft updates to be installed in your computer since that is one way to resolve the said problem. Moreover, you can do some of the troubleshooting steps stated in this forum posting: http://www.usglobalsat.com/forum/index.php?topic=1123.0

Another thing, make sure that you have the latest version of the Delorme program, as well as the device's driver here: http://www.usglobalsat.com/store/download/62/windows_pl2303_usb_driver.zip
« Last Edit: August 22, 2012, 06:52:45 pm by USG_TECH10 »
Logged

tdbone1

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: BU-353 4800 baud not fast enough - can it be changed?
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2012, 10:02:00 am »

so what is the baud rate supposed to be at?

i changed the actual port setting in windows device manager to 4800

and if i reset to factory defaults and start up sirf demo i think its default to 57600
also if i go from NMEA mode to SiRF mode and then back to NMEA mode it is default at 9600

so it would be good to know what the baud is actually supposed to be set at
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.262 seconds with 20 queries.