USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt  (Read 6329 times)

zingo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
    • zingo.org
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2010, 04:55:19 am »

The first problem is probably something with a serial module for python, not sure what.

Regarding the config file this is the comment I mean above just change:
Code: [Select]
comport: COM2          ;Windows
#comport: /dev/ttyUSB0  ;Linux
#/dev/tty.usbserial     ;OSX
to:
Code: [Select]
#comport: COM2          ;Windows
#comport: /dev/ttyUSB0  ;Linux
/dev/tty.usbserial     ;OSX

# is a comment so the lines started with # is ignored.
Logged

zingo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
    • zingo.org
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2010, 04:56:26 am »

opps I mean
Code: [Select]
#comport: COM2          ;Windows
#comport: /dev/ttyUSB0  ;Linux
comport: /dev/tty.usbserial     ;OSX

sorry
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #17 on: November 16, 2010, 11:05:34 am »

Here is the answer that I got from berbie, the devloper. What you guys think of this?

Hi Simon,

sorry for that I did not react any earlier but I was busy with other stuff. I think the integration requires the following key technologies for that you can view your recordings in TrailRunner:

a) USB driver for Mac OS X to connect the Globalsat GPS to your mac.
b) Small application to actually use the driver and generate a GPX or TCX file.
c) TrailRunner can then "integrate" this into to the import workflow.

With a) and b) I can't help, as my resources are very limited. But I would suggest that you take a look at the open source project
http://www.gpsbabel.org

It may be that the community over there is interested in building the missing link.
And it looks like they are already working on this frontier:
http://www.gpsbabel.org/htmldoc-development/fmt_dg-100.html

Please keep me updated!!

cheers,
- berbie.


Hi Simon,

Thanks for information. I have forwarded the Mac driver link to your mail box and I prefer "C", because our team is not familiar to Mac system.
I can provide the related documentation for integration, please kindly help contact him or give me the contact window.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #18 on: November 16, 2010, 03:07:50 pm »

Hi canadien,

About 2 years ago, when I got my Keymaze watch I remember there was a french guy who developed a custom application for mac called MacMaze.
It should also work with GH-625 since Keymaze is a rebranded GH-615, but unfortunatelly I can't find it anymore.
The website seems offline, I only found some videos on youtube...

Regards,
Phil
Logged

canadien

  • Guest
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #19 on: November 16, 2010, 09:33:47 pm »

@Phil: Thanks for the hint! Here is the link for macmaze 2.0.3 http://www.sapoworld.net/wp-content/uploads/Divers/MacMaze_2.0.3.dmg I've tried it but it does not seem to recognize my Gh-625. Although there is a place to enter a license key, do you think I have to have one in order to it work?

@Zingo, I more efficient to make video editing and the like than to play in terminal  :-[  I've call a friend which is c# programmer and he'll show me how to make a clean install of sporttracks and to get the phyton program to work. I am sorry, this is not really my field. But I am really eager to see sporttraks running on mono and to import data in TRx... Oh yes I am! ;).

Logged

canadien

  • Guest
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2010, 12:46:26 pm »

@Phil : I reinstalled the driver and now it works like a charm. Will try it later but it seems minimal and useful. I am macamazed :o
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2010, 11:18:33 pm »

Here is the answer that I got from berbie, the devloper. What you guys think of this?

Hi Simon,

sorry for that I did not react any earlier but I was busy with other stuff. I think the integration requires the following key technologies for that you can view your recordings in TrailRunner:

a) USB driver for Mac OS X to connect the Globalsat GPS to your mac.
b) Small application to actually use the driver and generate a GPX or TCX file.
c) TrailRunner can then "integrate" this into to the import workflow.

With a) and b) I can't help, as my resources are very limited. But I would suggest that you take a look at the open source project
http://www.gpsbabel.org

It may be that the community over there is interested in building the missing link.
And it looks like they are already working on this frontier:
http://www.gpsbabel.org/htmldoc-development/fmt_dg-100.html

Please keep me updated!!

cheers,
- berbie.


Hi Simon,

Thanks for information. I have forwarded the Mac driver link to your mail box and I prefer "C", because our team is not familiar to Mac system.
I can provide the related documentation for integration, please kindly help contact him or give me the contact window.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey

Hi Simon,

I have contacted TrailRunner developper, but no response so far. :(
I will try my best to come out solution. :D

Geoffrey
Logged

canadien

  • Guest
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #22 on: November 19, 2010, 01:36:58 pm »

Hi Geoffrey,

Last time I wrote berbie an email I did not receive any answer. So one week after I posted a thread on TRx forum (which is not easy to registered to ;)) and received an answer quickly.

Let me know if he does not answer your mail, and if he do not, I will post your reply on my TRx thread.

Thanks again for your efforts, I really hope they will have some success.

Geoffrey ftw!
Logged

canadien

  • Guest
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #23 on: November 20, 2010, 11:02:21 pm »

@Zingo: Hi Zingo. Don't know if you still read this thread but my friend did not come so I managed to install ST3 by myself. The result is so so  :-\

You can see the main page in the pic below. And when I move in the different views it always ends up by freezing. And if I go in setting (to get my gh-625 plugin), it freezes automatically (see second pic). Do you think there's something I've done wrong?



Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2010, 05:51:41 am »

Hi Geoffrey,

Last time I wrote berbie an email I did not receive any answer. So one week after I posted a thread on TRx forum (which is not easy to registered to ;)) and received an answer quickly.

Let me know if he does not answer your mail, and if he do not, I will post your reply on my TRx thread.

Thanks again for your efforts, I really hope they will have some success.

Geoffrey ftw!

Hi Simon,

Maybe more Globalsat folks to post will get much effective response. :D
Let's wait the good news.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

canadien

  • Guest
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2010, 01:05:47 am »


Hi Simon,

Maybe more Globalsat folks to post will get much effective response. :D
Let's wait the good news.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
[/quote]

Yes you are right. DonDuron, if you are reading this, maybe you can help to promote the Globalsat support on Berbie's support website. Unity is strength! I think you will enjoy using TRx. 

I discovered that Load My Tracks http://www.cluetrust.com/LoadMyTracks.html already having support for Gh-615/625. And I think TRx and Load my Tracks are already cooperating together. So I sent out this piece of info to berbie in case he did not know.

I also discovered another great mac sport GPS software called http://www.rubitrack.com/ which sells at 39$. For those interested...


canadien
Logged

zingo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
    • zingo.org
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2010, 06:58:19 pm »

Sorry your pictures are to cryptic for me, but please post them to:
http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/sporttracks/forums/viewtopic.php?t=9088
Maybe someone over there knows the problem. Maybe also someone that knows the code get some idea how it can be fixed.
Logged

canadien

  • Guest
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #27 on: November 23, 2010, 01:07:27 am »

lol, cryptic that's the word. I'll try one or two things and if I am still stuck, I'll post on ST forum. Thanks for the hint.
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #28 on: November 23, 2010, 01:36:48 pm »

Hi canadien!

Good to know you found MacMaze and it worked. Can you post some screenshots?

About SportTracks, it seems that it's trying to access the directory where the map tiles are stored, but it doesn't exist (or doesn't have permission?).
Did you try to create the directory manually?


Regards,
Phi
Logged

canadien

  • Guest
Re: Globalsat: You have to make the jump without any doubt
« Reply #29 on: November 23, 2010, 10:50:59 pm »

Hi Phil,

The version of macmaze I found is 2.0.3. It's not macmaze 300. You can compare both versions in those videos from the developer himself:
Macmaze:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5ZcQJYJvsk
Macmaze 300
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Rc65dmPSXI&feature=related

But now that I can use Load My Tracks into Trailrunner, I don't think I'll need Macmaze anymore. But will keep it just in case one day I'll need it again.


As for Sporttracks, I just copy the program folder from windows to OSX. Today I tried with ST2.1
It was a lot more stable, but still, it was unable to 1) connect to the Internet 2) Show installed plugins.
But I least I can navigate though the different windows and now activities are show on a blank background.

The investigation continues...

Have a nice day!

canadien
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.264 seconds with 19 queries.