USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: First impression  (Read 11638 times)

zingo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
    • zingo.org
Re: First impression
« Reply #30 on: November 30, 2009, 05:43:03 pm »

I just flashed the new FW (1.03) It's a big improvement, great work!

Just a few notes:
- Nice that I can rename the routes in the watch!
- GFX presentation, following the route is nice! (I have now actually followed on yet)
- It's kind of hard to select FOLLOW on a route, I think the "selection"
  should start with FOLLOW and not on the first point where I can
  select INSERT/REMOVE/EDIT. I think it is only in extreme situation
  you want to edit this kind of data FOLLOW/DELETE should be easy
  and thet first thing to select, e.g selecting a route should be:
1. "select route button"
2. screen comes up select route with "arrow" keys and press OK
3. FOLLOW should be in "focus" so here I just press OK again and the BACKWARDS/FORWARD selection comes up.

- I like FORWARD to be first in the BACKWARDS/FORWARD selection "window".
Maybe even remove this window and have something like

<Route name>
--------------------------------------
Pt001    :    0m
Pt002    :   12m
Pt003    :   34m
Pt004    :   12m
--------------------------------------
FOLLOW:FORWARD/BACKWARD
                   DELETE

This would save a button press if "FORWARD" was selected when entering this screen.

- I see that you manage to show distance on the points is is possible to show
total route distance also?

- I also manage to download both a route and waypoint from Linux Ubuntu 9.10
via Sporttracks using Phils nice plugin.
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: First impression
« Reply #31 on: December 08, 2009, 08:27:33 am »

I just flashed the new FW (1.03) It's a big improvement, great work!

Just a few notes:
- Nice that I can rename the routes in the watch!
- GFX presentation, following the route is nice! (I have now actually followed on yet)
- It's kind of hard to select FOLLOW on a route, I think the "selection"
  should start with FOLLOW and not on the first point where I can
  select INSERT/REMOVE/EDIT. I think it is only in extreme situation
  you want to edit this kind of data FOLLOW/DELETE should be easy
  and thet first thing to select, e.g selecting a route should be:
1. "select route button"
2. screen comes up select route with "arrow" keys and press OK
3. FOLLOW should be in "focus" so here I just press OK again and the BACKWARDS/FORWARD selection comes up.

- I like FORWARD to be first in the BACKWARDS/FORWARD selection "window".
Maybe even remove this window and have something like

<Route name>
--------------------------------------
Pt001    :    0m
Pt002    :   12m
Pt003    :   34m
Pt004    :   12m
--------------------------------------
FOLLOW:FORWARD/BACKWARD
                   DELETE

This would save a button press if "FORWARD" was selected when entering this screen.

- I see that you manage to show distance on the points is is possible to show
total route distance also?

- I also manage to download both a route and waypoint from Linux Ubuntu 9.10
via Sporttracks using Phils nice plugin.

Hi Zingo,

Thanks for your testing and encourage!
Phil's plug is a really nice tool, thanks, Phil! ;)
How is your integration of Linux going now?
It is ok to show total distance on screen, I will check with our engineer.

Have a nice day,

Geoffrey ;)
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Re: First impression
« Reply #32 on: December 30, 2009, 07:59:00 pm »

Finally I'm on holidays and I had a chance to perform more tests with the GH-561 and the new firmware.

I created some routes with the SportTracks and went following them, and now with the map mode I felt more comfortable, without having to trust blindly on the compass arrow. Not only I can see the arrow and route on the map, but also skip points.
Overall this was a great improvement and works correctly.

I also noticed the good performance of the screen during the map mode. Unlinke GH-625 and similars, the refresh rate is really fast, I don't even see the route being drawn point by point, it shows up already complete. This also makes zooming in/out much faster.
I wish you could make the watch models perform like this, but it's probably because of hardware (is it? I thought GH-561 had lower specs).

Otherwise, I was annoyed by the fact that when the 10 waypoints memory was full and I tried to save another, it deleted all of them and stored the new one. I think it should ask the user if he wants to overwrite some waypoint or at least delete only one.


Regards,
-Phil
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: First impression
« Reply #33 on: January 01, 2010, 08:50:59 am »

Finally I'm on holidays and I had a chance to perform more tests with the GH-561 and the new firmware.

I created some routes with the SportTracks and went following them, and now with the map mode I felt more comfortable, without having to trust blindly on the compass arrow. Not only I can see the arrow and route on the map, but also skip points.
Overall this was a great improvement and works correctly.

I also noticed the good performance of the screen during the map mode. Unlinke GH-625 and similars, the refresh rate is really fast, I don't even see the route being drawn point by point, it shows up already complete. This also makes zooming in/out much faster.
I wish you could make the watch models perform like this, but it's probably because of hardware (is it? I thought GH-561 had lower specs).

Otherwise, I was annoyed by the fact that when the 10 waypoints memory was full and I tried to save another, it deleted all of them and stored the new one. I think it should ask the user if he wants to overwrite some waypoint or at least delete only one.


Regards,
-Phil

Hi Phil,

Thanks for kind testing.
The drawing performance has been improved since MCU was changed which is more powerful, not lower spec.

Travel manager will notice and ask user if wanna erase waypoints when memory is full. Maybe the problem comes from your plugin, please have a check.

Have a nice new year

Geoffrey  :)
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Re: First impression
« Reply #34 on: January 02, 2010, 12:09:16 pm »


Hi Phil,

Thanks for kind testing.
The drawing performance has been improved since MCU was changed which is more powerful, not lower spec.

Travel manager will notice and ask user if wanna erase waypoints when memory is full. Maybe the problem comes from your plugin, please have a check.

Have a nice new year

Geoffrey  :)

Hi Geoffrey,

Happy new year for you too!

You're right about Travel Manager, I also noticed that, but I was talking about saving new waypoints on the device itself, not transfering from PC.
All of the stored waypoints were deleted to save the new waypoint without any warning.

Regards,
-Phil
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Re: First impression
« Reply #35 on: January 09, 2010, 05:28:06 pm »

Hi,
I tested this device a little more, and there is definitely a bug.

When there are already 10 waypoints on the GPS and I save a 11th waypoint, all the others disappear and only this one is shown on the list.
But on the PC it shows 5 other waypoints with invalid names and coordinates, and the waypoint count reports 10 wapoints.

I couldn't delete the waypoints one by one because the names are invalid, and the "delete all" command didn't work either, so I had to reset to factory settings in order to fix it.
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: First impression
« Reply #36 on: January 20, 2010, 10:43:37 am »

Hi,
I tested this device a little more, and there is definitely a bug.

When there are already 10 waypoints on the GPS and I save a 11th waypoint, all the others disappear and only this one is shown on the list.
But on the PC it shows 5 other waypoints with invalid names and coordinates, and the waypoint count reports 10 wapoints.

I couldn't delete the waypoints one by one because the names are invalid, and the "delete all" command didn't work either, so I had to reset to factory settings in order to fix it.

Hi Phil,

How is it going now?
We have V1.2 Software on website, maybe you can have a try.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Re: First impression
« Reply #37 on: January 21, 2010, 08:53:21 am »

Hi,
I tested this device a little more, and there is definitely a bug.

When there are already 10 waypoints on the GPS and I save a 11th waypoint, all the others disappear and only this one is shown on the list.
But on the PC it shows 5 other waypoints with invalid names and coordinates, and the waypoint count reports 10 wapoints.

I couldn't delete the waypoints one by one because the names are invalid, and the "delete all" command didn't work either, so I had to reset to factory settings in order to fix it.

Hi Phil,

How is it going now?
We have V1.2 Software on website, maybe you can have a try.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey

Hi Geoffrey,

You didn't understand, the problem is not the software.
I'm not using the PC to create the waypoints, I'm saving them directly in the GPS with the middle button on the left side.

When I try to save a 11th waypoint, it messes the memory up and weird thing happen.
On the GH-625 it shows a "memory full" message and doesn't let the user save more than 100 waypoints. This is what GH-561 should also do.

Regards,
Phil
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: First impression
« Reply #38 on: January 22, 2010, 11:32:17 am »

Hi,
I tested this device a little more, and there is definitely a bug.

When there are already 10 waypoints on the GPS and I save a 11th waypoint, all the others disappear and only this one is shown on the list.
But on the PC it shows 5 other waypoints with invalid names and coordinates, and the waypoint count reports 10 wapoints.

I couldn't delete the waypoints one by one because the names are invalid, and the "delete all" command didn't work either, so I had to reset to factory settings in order to fix it.

Hi Phil,

How is it going now?
We have V1.2 Software on website, maybe you can have a try.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey

Hi Geoffrey,

You didn't understand, the problem is not the software.
I'm not using the PC to create the waypoints, I'm saving them directly in the GPS with the middle button on the left side.

When I try to save a 11th waypoint, it messes the memory up and weird thing happen.
On the GH-625 it shows a "memory full" message and doesn't let the user save more than 100 waypoints. This is what GH-561 should also do.

Regards,
Phil

Hi Phil,

That's clear.
I will check with engineer to clarify this issue.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: First impression
« Reply #39 on: January 28, 2010, 10:41:46 am »

Hi,
I tested this device a little more, and there is definitely a bug.

When there are already 10 waypoints on the GPS and I save a 11th waypoint, all the others disappear and only this one is shown on the list.
But on the PC it shows 5 other waypoints with invalid names and coordinates, and the waypoint count reports 10 wapoints.

I couldn't delete the waypoints one by one because the names are invalid, and the "delete all" command didn't work either, so I had to reset to factory settings in order to fix it.

Hi Phil,

How is it going now?
We have V1.2 Software on website, maybe you can have a try.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey

Hi Geoffrey,

You didn't understand, the problem is not the software.
I'm not using the PC to create the waypoints, I'm saving them directly in the GPS with the middle button on the left side.

When I try to save a 11th waypoint, it messes the memory up and weird thing happen.
On the GH-625 it shows a "memory full" message and doesn't let the user save more than 100 waypoints. This is what GH-561 should also do.

Regards,
Phil

Hi Phil,

That's clear.
I will check with engineer to clarify this issue.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey

Hello Phil,

We have find out the solution on this issue.
We plan to release new firmware tomorrow.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Re: First impression
« Reply #40 on: February 01, 2010, 06:52:20 pm »

Hello Phil,

We have find out the solution on this issue.
We plan to release new firmware tomorrow.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey

That's impressive. In less than a week the problem was fixed.
This is why I like Globalsat so much.
Keep up the good work  ;)

Regards,
-Phil
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: First impression
« Reply #41 on: February 02, 2010, 12:49:01 am »

Hello Phil,

We have find out the solution on this issue.
We plan to release new firmware tomorrow.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey

That's impressive. In less than a week the problem was fixed.
This is why I like Globalsat so much.
Keep up the good work  ;)

Regards,
-Phil

Hi Phil,

Thanks for your encourage.
We feel much powerful! :D


Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.304 seconds with 20 queries.