USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Setting output rate  (Read 1992 times)

Donagh

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Setting output rate
« on: March 02, 2011, 12:19:18 pm »

Hi
I have come to this forum about my EM-406a project before. To test out the engine board I connected it to a computer terminal via RS-232 serial connection and it printed streams of data down my terminal which is exactly what I was expecting.
I chose the Information messages that I wanted to concentrate on and set up a command to instruct the EM-406a to only output RMC data at a rate of 1Hz. The command that I used is shown below.

UART_CPutString("$PSRF103,00,00,00,00*25\n\r");
UART_CPutString("$PSRF103,01,00,00,00*24\n\r");
UART_CPutString("$PSRF103,02,00,00,00*27\n\r");
UART_CPutString("$PSRF103,03,00,00,00*26\n\r");
UART_CPutString("$PSRF103,05,00,00,00*20\n\r");
UART_CPutString("$PSRF103,04,00,01,01*21\n\r");

After receiving this command my engine board only returns zeros, as seen below.

<0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0><0>

Can anyone help me figure out what has gone wrong with my board, and maybe let me know if Iím am inputting my commands correctly.
Logged

Donagh

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Setting output rate
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 01:57:51 pm »

I think the zeros could just mean no signal, but when a signal is pressent I recive no output what so ever.
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Setting output rate
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2011, 05:56:59 pm »

To check whether your device is in SiRF or NMEA mode, please utilize this program: SiRFDemo (http://www.usglobalsat.com/store/downloads/SiRFDemo387.zip). Extract the file and install the application.

Open up the program, select the com port, and choose the correct baud rate. Go to Action > Open Data Source.
If you see scrolling data in the Error View window, go to Action > Synchronize Protocol & Baud Rate.
If you see scrolling data in the Response View window, go to Action > Switch to NMEA Protocol. Choose the 4800 baud rate under the Baud Rate and click Send.
If you see scrolling data in the Debug View window, go to Action > Initialize Data Source. In the Receiver Initialization window, select Factory Reset and click Send.

To only enable the RMC sentence on the device, follow the steps below:

1. Go to Action > Open Data Source.
2. Next, go to Action > Switch to SiRF Protocol.
3. Then, go to Action > Switch to NMEA Protocol.
4. In the NMEA Setup window, select 1 for RMC and set the rest to 0.
5. Choose the 4800 baud rate under the Baud Rate and click Send.
6. In the Debug View - NMEA window, you will only see the RMC sentences.

Note: Be sure not to click on anything else in this software, as you can render your device unusable. Moreover, the device will return to its default settings once the internal battery drains when it is removed from power.

Let us know how it goes.
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 03:42:31 pm by USG_TECH10 »
Logged

federer

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: -2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Setting output rate
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2011, 03:07:16 am »

To check whether your device is in SiRF or NMEA mode, please utilize this program: SiRFDemo (http://www.usglobalsat.com/store/downloads/SiRFDemo387.zip). Extract the file and install the application.

Open up the program, select the com port, and choose the correct baud rate. Go to Action > Open Data Source.
If you see scrolling data in the Error View window, go to Action > Synchronize Protocol & Baud Rate.
If you see scrolling data in the Response View window, go to Action > Switch to NMEA Protocol. Choose the 4800 baud rate under the Baud Rate and click Send.
If you see scrolling data in the Debug View window, go to Action > Initialize Data Source. In the Receiver Initialization window, select Factory Reset and click Send.

To only enable the RMC sentence on the device, follow the steps below:

1. Go to Action > Open Data Source.
2. Next, go to Action > Switch to SiRF Protocol.
3. Then, go to Action > Switch to NMEA Protocol.
4. In the NMEA Setup window, select 1 for RMC and set the rest to 0.
5. Choose the 4800 baud rate under the Baud Rate and click Send.
6. In the Debug View - NMEA window, you will only see the RMC sentences.

Note: Be sure not to click on anything else in this software, as you can render your device unusable. Moreover, the device will return to its default settings once the internal battery drains when it is removed from power.

Let us know how it goes.

This information is really useful. Its in very simple language which can be easily understandable.
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 03:42:21 pm by USG_TECH10 »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.204 seconds with 19 queries.