USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Wrong firmware on BT-338  (Read 2875 times)

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Wrong firmware on BT-338
« on: September 28, 2011, 11:03:23 am »

I have a BT-338 device that was upgraded with wrong firmware.
How can I fix it?
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2011, 11:54:58 am »

Can you please provide the version of the firmware that your BT-338 has?

In order to acquire the firmware version, please refer to this forum post: http://www.usglobalsat.com/forum/index.php?topic=3514.msg8979#msg8979

Also, download the GPSInfo from here: http://www.usglobalsat.com/store/downloads/GPSInfo.zip
Logged

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2011, 02:45:49 pm »

When I press the Cold Start button It doesn't show anything, Sirf Version and FW Version is blank and show me this message:
$PSRF
...OK
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2011, 03:00:02 pm »

Just a couple of questions about this?

Is the device fully charged?
Do you see any lights blinking?
For more info, please refer to its User Manual: http://www.globalsat.com.tw/globalsat_admin/new_file_download.php?Pact=FileDownLoad&Pval=2126

What is the operating system of your computer?
Does your computer support SPP (http://www.usglobalsat.com/forum/index.php?topic=3365.0)? Or, is it bluetooth enabled?
If you successfully paired the unit with your computer, do you remember inputting the passcode '0000'?

Also, how were you able to determine that the BT-338 was upgraded with the wrong firmware?
Is it not pairing up with your computer?
Are you getting any error messages?

Please provide more details as possible, so we can better understand the problem.
Logged

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2011, 04:03:12 pm »

Before upgrade, everything was ok, I received data on GPSInfo. after upgrade with SiRFFlash program I don't receive data but still my computer can find this device, blue and green lights are blinking.
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2011, 04:13:59 pm »

Another set of questions:

What is the firmware version that you used to flash the firmware?
Also, where did you acquire the firmware? Just wondering who provided you the file and instructions.
Logged

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2011, 05:21:25 pm »

I don't know about firmware version.I think that firmware belonged to an other device and wrong for BT-338.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2011, 05:38:28 pm by arm2011 »
Logged

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2011, 11:33:24 am »

Please, let me know how can I fix it?
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2011, 12:01:48 pm »

If everything was working fine, what was the reason you upgraded the firmware?
Also, may I ask where did you acquire the firmware and the update instructions?
Can you please provide the serial number of the device? It should be located at the back.
What is the date of purchase?
Where did you bought it?

Usually, we recommend to some customers not to do the firmware upgrade by themselves as they might possibly render the device unusable.
Logged

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2011, 01:26:58 pm »

Yes, everything was ok, but it had 3 minutes delay to connect to the satellite. I found this firmware and the update instructions from internet. I have this device for one year that was used when I bought it. I Remove the battery but I can't find the serial number.
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2011, 02:39:48 pm »

The serial number is located at the back cover of the device. So, there is no need to take out the battery. It should be indicated in the white sticker with this format > S/N: XXXXXX

Also, where did you bought this device?
« Last Edit: September 29, 2011, 03:34:23 pm by USG_TECH10 »
Logged

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2011, 03:20:11 pm »

It doesn't have white sticker at the back cover. I bought it from a friend. He had the same device.
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2011, 03:34:09 pm »

Got it. I will check with our engineers about this.
Logged

arm2011

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2011, 03:58:25 pm »

Thank you for trying to solve my problem. :)
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Wrong firmware on BT-338
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2011, 11:35:14 am »

After checking with our engineers, they stated that at this point the warranty has already expired and not a simple firmware upgrade can resolve the problem. That is why we never provide firmware update to end-users in order to avoid this kind of issue. Unfortunately, the unit cannot be repaired.

You can possibly purchase a recertified unit that we have from here offered at a reasonable price: http://www.usglobalsat.com/store/p-628-81-bt-338slvr-main-unit-only.aspx

Let me know if you have any questions.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.245 seconds with 19 queries.