USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 1PPS out of em406a  (Read 2150 times)

alefbe

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
1PPS out of em406a
« on: November 06, 2011, 03:28:08 am »

Hi,

I am a hobbyist and recently bought from an Italian reseller an EM406A module ( S.N. 0019917). I am planning to use the module with an Arduino UNO board that is also providing the 5 V for power. I tested the board with a couple of programs and everything works fine: the module gets a fix, the LED starts blinking and I am able to read the NMEA messages on my PC. What apparently does not work is the 1PPS pulse out of pin 6. I was expecting a pulse between 2 to 3V every second , as soon as the module got the fix, but this is not so. If I connect an oscilloscope between pin 6 and ground I only see  very weak (around 270 mV) RANDOM pulses. Am I doing something wrong?
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: 1PPS out of em406a
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2011, 04:12:48 pm »

Just a couple of questions about this:

What is the firmware version? To determine this, please refer to the forum posting: http://www.usglobalsat.com/forum/index.php?topic=3514.msg8979#msg8979
Also, can you please provide specs/datasheet about the Arduino UNO board?
Logged

alefbe

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: 1PPS out of em406a
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 09:53:49 am »

Hi,

thank you for your quick reply. Just to let you know that I have solved the "problem" with the 1 PPS pin.
The gps works fine, it was my fault: I was mis-using the oscilloscope (I am not an expert in electronics).
With the help of a friend I was able to check the pulse and both the voltage and the timings are ok.
Thanks again.
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: 1PPS out of em406a
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2011, 12:12:09 pm »

Good to hear that you got it to work! And, thanks for the update.

Just feel free to ask if you have any questions.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.191 seconds with 20 queries.