USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Reprogramming  (Read 1453 times)

RNS

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Reprogramming
« on: February 27, 2012, 12:39:02 pm »

Just wanted to know when these antennas are repogrammed through the SiRF Demo PC Software, will these changes be permanently saved, i.e. written to the EEPROM, or will the default settings be loaded once the internal battery/supercap dies?

I need to know this since I have to enable the VTG sentence on these mice for my applications. It'd be stupid if they were to self restore to factory default values after a few months or so!
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Reprogramming
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 01:49:28 pm »

Actually, it would revert back to its factory default settings when you leave the device unplugged for about 72 hours. You can find some info on its FAQ here (#14): http://www.usglobalsat.com/forum/index.php?topic=3587.0
Logged

RNS

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Reprogramming
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 06:29:22 am »

D*&Y$$, I was hoping it wouldn't do that!  :(
Any way to overcome this, e.g. other firmware?My only other option would be to reprogramme my products to accept a different sentence like the RMC one to accomodate this problem, but I'd prefer the VTG to be honest with you...
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Reprogramming
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 01:22:34 pm »

Yes, the only way to permanently enable this sentence is through firmware modification. Usually, this will require NRE or an MOQ of 1000 pieces to do this modification.
Logged

RNS

  • Newbie
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Reprogramming
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2012, 01:34:02 pm »

Thanks for your help! I guess I will have to change my software to work with the RMC sentence instead then, not a big problem  ;)
Logged

GS_TECH01

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Reprogramming
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2012, 01:44:00 pm »

You're welcome. Just let me know if you have any questions. Thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.195 seconds with 19 queries.