USGlobalSat GPS Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 16   Go Down

Author Topic: HR monitor problem  (Read 55735 times)

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2009, 08:21:46 am »

I also had problems with high peaks in heart rate values.
Today before running I changed the battery of the belt. After running a values were good, no peaks.
What I'm wondering is that the old battery had a voltage of 3.02V which should be still enough to work. My experience with other belts is that they are still working correctly down to battery voltages such as of 2.8V.

Regards

Hello Snow_Freak

We have tested over 200pcs belt, the normal operating voltage is 2.9V above, under 2.9V the frequency will be little shifed to impact performance. Hope it is useful for you.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2009, 08:33:46 am »

Hi Longjog and everyone else,

I've rinsed my belt thoroughly yesterday and now it seems to work better. Since some of the readings before was high but not all of them peaks (in fact the belt was getting worse over time). I think you should try to rinse the belt thoroughly.

I had my clock on while rising the belt. For a long time while rinsing the belt the clock showed >220 bpm without me even wearing the belt. After a while the clock lost connection with the belt while I was drying it (hand towel). But I still got some peaks sometimes when I touched the belt. So I went back to the sink again and rinsed some more. After a while the clock lost contact with the belt for good (At least until I tried the belt on). For now it looks like the belt works fine. Good and stable hr without any peaks. I will try the belt tonight while I'm training.

For now I'm happy. Thank Ultrapetita for the tip. I wasn't obstinate enough before. :)

Kind regards
Johan

It is amazing! It seems a good way to remove spike problem.
Thanks all, we will do more test and do you mind if I post as a tip on an new topic?

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

ultrapetita

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2009, 12:49:46 am »

It is amazing! It seems a good way to remove spike problem.
Thanks all, we will do more test and do you mind if I post as a tip on an new topic?


I have been now very careful in cleaning of the belt after every run, especially the joints.

With the latest Firmware and carefully cleaned belt the HRM has been working without any spikes and the HR shown has been realistic.

Logged

Hubert

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
  • Hubert (Germany)
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2009, 12:59:14 pm »

Hi all,

in the meantime I was able to test my watch (or better: the heart rate monitor)
during some running trainings. And I'm sorry to say: It's disappointing !

Approximately every ten minutes there were some peaks between 180 to 200 bpm.
And from my point of view this is not accpetable !
During the last nearly 10 years I've had several no name/low cost (<20 Euro) watches
with HRM. And all of them were able to handle the HR signals without any problem. 
And I'm not talking about problems that might occur with other people wearing
non coded belts/watches.
And I'm also not talking about external sources of interference like high voltage
lines. These are known problems. And if you buy a non coded belt, you have to
accept this.
But without any external disturbance the watch should be able to measure the
heart beat correctly. And as everybody can see from this low cost examples,
this is a well known technique and I really do not understand, why the GH-625
is not able to do it.
And I'm not willing to spend half an hour before the training on cleaning a belt
and half an hour after the run on analysing and correcting the values.
No - this is not a solution !

I really hope, that the problem is based on the firmware and it can be fixed with
the next update !

Furthermore I have some more suggestions to improve the heart beat monitoring.
I will post this in the "new functions" thread.

Best regards, Hubert
Logged
GH-625XT, Firmware: F-GGH-2P-1112231 (Beta)
GH-505 M, Firmware: F-GGH-2C-1007161 (Beta)
GH-625 M, Firmware: F-GGH-2A-1001073 (Version XII)
with GS-Sport Gym Pro v1.6.8 and Sporttracks 2.1.3326

johan_ande

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2009, 02:36:25 am »

Hi,

I was happy when my belt started to work again. But now 2 days ago it died completely. I tried to change battery but no success. I will try to investigate this more and rinse the belt again (I do rinse it every time I have used it).

Are you going to use the same belt for your new watch? Since there seems to be a a lot of problems related to the belt and not the watch.

Kind regards
Johan
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #20 on: April 24, 2009, 12:24:05 am »

Hi all,

in the meantime I was able to test my watch (or better: the heart rate monitor)
during some running trainings. And I'm sorry to say: It's disappointing !

Approximately every ten minutes there were some peaks between 180 to 200 bpm.
And from my point of view this is not accpetable !
During the last nearly 10 years I've had several no name/low cost (<20 Euro) watches
with HRM. And all of them were able to handle the HR signals without any problem. 
And I'm not talking about problems that might occur with other people wearing
non coded belts/watches.
And I'm also not talking about external sources of interference like high voltage
lines. These are known problems. And if you buy a non coded belt, you have to
accept this.
But without any external disturbance the watch should be able to measure the
heart beat correctly. And as everybody can see from this low cost examples,
this is a well known technique and I really do not understand, why the GH-625
is not able to do it.
And I'm not willing to spend half an hour before the training on cleaning a belt
and half an hour after the run on analysing and correcting the values.
No - this is not a solution !

I really hope, that the problem is based on the firmware and it can be fixed with
the next update !

Furthermore I have some more suggestions to improve the heart beat monitoring.
I will post this in the "new functions" thread.

Best regards, Hubert

Dear Hubert,

It is appreciated for your information. Sometimes belt unstable lead to watch works abnormally.
Beside maintance and clean of belt, we have monitored the signal and try several ways to implement alogrithm to filter the nosie, we called the firmware as "beta" before formal release.
We are always listen to customer what they want and make our product perfect.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
       
Logged

TWG_TECH8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 12
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2009, 12:26:10 am »

Hi,

I was happy when my belt started to work again. But now 2 days ago it died completely. I tried to change battery but no success. I will try to investigate this more and rinse the belt again (I do rinse it every time I have used it).

Are you going to use the same belt for your new watch? Since there seems to be a a lot of problems related to the belt and not the watch.

Kind regards
Johan

Dear Johan

We will use new belt with 2.4G technologies for our new watch, for GH-625, we are sourcing new belt and already shipped.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey
Logged

johan_ande

  • Regular Members
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2009, 06:05:59 am »

That's good hopefully this won't be a big problem in the future you then.

Regards
Johan
Logged

ultrapetita

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #23 on: April 28, 2009, 07:32:45 am »

Just completed a 6hours race on running track last weekend and the HRM of GH-615 with the latest betaFW worked without problems.

In the beginning there was one high peak up to 200bpm and during the first 2hours some spikes up and down, but after that absolutely stable HR was shown.

Just a hint for GPS users: if you want to have accurate distance measurement when running on a running track, keep your device attached to the inner loop side wrist - this minimizes the possible "shadows" of the signals by buildings, trees etc.
Logged

zingo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
    • zingo.org
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #24 on: April 28, 2009, 01:31:10 pm »

ultrapetita: How did the watch distance compare with the official reading?
Logged

ultrapetita

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2009, 06:12:05 am »

ultrapetita: How did the watch distance compare with the official reading?

Hi zingo,

The error in measured distance was <0.5%, which is quite good results for a GPS measurement. (I have tried the same with mobile phone based GPS, but the accuracy was unacceptable. As well, If there are any buildings near the track, the watch must be attached to your inner loop side wrist, like I wrote)

Please see the GPS Track below:

Logged

zingo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
    • zingo.org
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #26 on: April 29, 2009, 12:55:55 pm »

Nice man, and "respect" for running for 6h on a 400m track, I'm planing to do my Ultra debut this year.

That image is realy nice, even you lap markings are grouped.  I was thinking that they would start "wandering"  over the track but they are grouped nicely.
Did you use distance alert on the watch or are they from SportTrack?
Logged

ultrapetita

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #27 on: April 30, 2009, 03:50:48 am »

That image is realy nice, even you lap markings are grouped.  I was thinking that they would start "wandering"  over the track but they are grouped nicely.
Did you use distance alert on the watch or are they from SportTrack?

I have taken the laps manually and that's the reason why they are grouped so nicely.

The picture looks much better if I look at only some laps at once. The inaccuracy seems to be related to time (=satellite locations, systematic error caused by atmosphere). The track location is just varying a little bit ~10m but the track length has stayed roughly the same.

Logged

Hubert

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
  • Hubert (Germany)
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #28 on: May 01, 2009, 06:54:02 am »

Hi all,

these are my latest heart rate results :



As you can see, the first 20 minutes are more or less random values.
The remaining 40 minutes are completely okay.
I really do not understand !  I didn't touch or move the belt during the run.
I run the same track 4 times (each about 15 min.)

I'm normally not so much interested in individual values. For me it would be enough
to know the avarage and the maximum heart rate at the end. But both are not
usable !  >:(

Why are the values better during the second half run ? 
It cannot be because of belt cleaning (I didn't clean it druing the run !).
It cannot be because of weak batteries (they don't get better...).
It cannot be because of external disturbance (same track !).

The only reason I can imagine is because of a bad contact between belt and
breast, which might improve because of sweat. But before starting, I always
make the belt wet. And I never had problems before with other watches...

Any more ideas ?  ???

And bytheway... I think, filtering of spikes by software is not the solution !
This can be only a temporary workaround and if really neccessary, it should be
done by a software plugin like sporttracks  - not inside the watch. So that
everybody can decide, if he wants to filter or not.

The goal should be to find the reason for this problem:
  • Is it the belt, having problems to receive the heart beat ?
  • Is it the belt, having problems to send the data to the watch ?
  • Is it a problem of communication between belt and watch ?
  • It is the watch, having problems to receive the belt signals ?
  • It is the watch, having problems to process the heart beat ?

I'm still disappointed about this "feature" of the watch and in the
meantime, I'm afraid it will not be solved... :(


Regards, Hubert
Logged
GH-625XT, Firmware: F-GGH-2P-1112231 (Beta)
GH-505 M, Firmware: F-GGH-2C-1007161 (Beta)
GH-625 M, Firmware: F-GGH-2A-1001073 (Version XII)
with GS-Sport Gym Pro v1.6.8 and Sporttracks 2.1.3326

snow_freak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
Re: HR monitor problem
« Reply #29 on: May 06, 2009, 02:04:53 pm »

In the last time i experienced problems with hart rate recording again. I have seen both, high values only for few seconds, and high values for several minutes. These values appeared at any time. So i cant see any rules in this behavior. 
To solve the problem i have used new batteries, i have cleaned the belt, i made the belt wet before starting. But nothing worked.
I'm afraid the problem can't be solved with any firmware hack. I guess its either a problem of the belt (sensitivity or the transmitter) or a problem of the receiver in the watch.

Is there any other belt known to work with the watch? I tried two belts (form sigma and from ciclo sport) which don't work, because these belts are working with 5.3kHz instead of the unusual 5kHz of the Globalsat belt.

For me the heart rate function is not use able in this state.

Regards
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 16   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.321 seconds with 20 queries.